Mormonism is NOT a Cult

I am pretty much obsessed with politics as of late and something has really got me ticking. Pastor Robert Jeffress has made some pretty controversal and COMPLETELY FALSE statements regarding The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. He has stated that “Mormons” are not Christians; that they are a cult in a theological sense. He suggested that we do not follow or believe what other Christians do, saying that our church was founded by man, Joseph Smith, and not by God.

 

I can’t understand why and how someone could be allowed to make such false statements. However, I am glad for the media is actually fighting back and saying that Mormons actually are Christian. My dad forwarded an email that he wrote, and I’d like to share it….

Dear Pastor Jefferes and fellow associates,

I believe in Jesus Christ.  He is my King.  He is the literal Son of God. I know that he is the promised Messiah. He died for me, you and all of us. I believe that thru and by His grace,  I am saved.  I am a Christian.  I have taken his holy name upon me and am not timid of this conviction.  Each week I repent and humbly renew my baptismal covenants and try my hardest each and every moment of each day to be worthy of his name, of Christianity. I am also a member of the Christ of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.  You’d call me a Mormon.

I don’t know you but I understand that you are also a Christian.  I’m confused when I hear you publically and boldly proclaim, with a degree of certainty that I along with other members of my faith are not Christian and belong to some kind of cult. I would sincerely like to understand the motivation behind your being critical of my faith in Christ and promoting what to me and my family are obvious falsehoods.   I’d suggest that your spurious statements say more about you and your church than it does mine.

I look forward to a personal explanation by reply.

Thank you for reading this, sincerely your brother, (Ephesians 2:19)

I am so grateful for my dad’s great example and for the gospel  of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints in my life. I find it interesting that everyone seems to love to hate/attack others beliefs when Christian doctrine teaches us to love everyone.

I’m really looking forward to tomorrow nights Republican debate. We’ll see if this issue in particular is raised towards Rick Perry (as he’s been linked to Pastor Jeffress) or Mitt Romney and how each of them choose to respond.

If you want to know more about the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints and what I believe check out mormon.org

Leave a Reply

