Who Stole the Cookies from the Cookie Jar?

 

Please Please vote for me! Just click. That was easy.

So earlier this week my roommate Liz and I were hanging out with the girl we mentor, Tia, and we made cookies for our activity. Its actually hard for me to believe that I’ve been hanging out with this awesome girl for three years! Time flies. We have a good time.


We made cookies… and not just any cookies… but Reeces Pieces cookies. Sooo good right? Well, we discovered an even better cookie during this process. Sadly before we got to the last batch, we had run out of my favorite peanut butter candy so I grabbed these out of my pantry to improvise…Have you ever tried these before? They are one of my favorite things. These ones are from Trader Joe’s, but as Utah doesn’t have a Trader Joe’s (boo!) I’m sure you could find them at any grocery store. 

Ok ready for the recipe? Here’s how it goes…  

Sunflower Seed Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 1/4 cup sifted flour
  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate covered sunflower seeds ( you can add more… we didn’t measure, just eyeball it)

Directions

Cream shortening and sugars in a large bowl until thoroughly mixed. Beat in vanilla and eggs. Sift remaining dry ingredients together in a separate bowl, then add to the sugar and egg mixture, blending well. Stir in chocolate covered sunflower seeds. Bake on parchment lined baking sheet at 375 degrees for 6-7 minutes. (Tip* make the dough balls very small… these cookies flatten and spread and don’t take long to cook) Finished when edges begin to slightly brown.

So so so good. This may in fact be one of my favorite cookies ever. I love making new discoveries. Told you I was a cookie monster.

2 thoughts on “Who Stole the Cookies from the Cookie Jar?

  1. i’m sucha creep–but i’m monitoring my fb time recently and i look forward to these posts each day. in fact, as i was just walking home from school, i thought, “yes! abby has a new post i haven’t read yet!” its quite exciting.
    and then when i saw the title i just laughed…didn’t you try to convince me that “who stole the cookies from the cookie jar” was some kind of game? am i remembering this correctly?
    anyways, i’m glad to see that trader joes saved the day. [no surprise there] && my ohh my those cookies look delish! compliments to chef abby.

  2. Pingback: Contest Reminder « The Mundane Life of Abby

Leave a Reply

