Personality Explained

For one of my classes this semester I was forced to take two personality tests. Yes forced. I don’t like taking these types of tests because I don’t believe that they truly work. I feel like the questions are not relevant and not a good measure of who I am as a person. But….. I am/was wrong. I got my results back yesterday and it nailed me.

I took the Type Focus test and discovered my personality type is ISFJ. If you’re a BYU student and want to know your code, you can go online and take it for free. It takes all of 5 minutes. Anywho… what does ISFJ mean? Introverted, Sensing, Feeling, and Judging.

Seriously my scores for introversion and judging were off the charts high… no surprise. Before you think judging means I’m critical or negative towards others… it doesn’t mean that. It means I am predictable, can make most decisions quickly, and am organized.

As I was reading my summary I felt like I was straight out of that seen from What about Bob…

  • My primary mode of living is focused internally – Yes
  • Warm, sensitive, and QUIET – Yes
  • ISFJ’s have an exceptional memory when it comes to things that are important to their value systems; even remembering precise details and facial expressions years later – Yes that’s me
  • Has an extremely well-developed sense of space, function, and aesthetic appeal. For that reason they’re likely to have beautifully furnished, functional homes. – Yes that’s me too
  • Usually do not express their own feelings keeping things inside. If they are negative feelings, they build up inside until they turn into firm judgments against individuals which are difficult to unseed, once set – me again
  • Just as ISFJ is not likely to express their feelings, they are also not likely to let on that they know how others are feeling. However they will speak up if they feel the individual needs help – Bingo

Basically I’m about as introverted as they come, and this assessment told me I can easily keep myself entertained for days without feeling depressed or lonely. Very true. Hate to say it, but I think these things actually work. Nearly 95% of my class felt that it was spot on as well. Our teacher made it a point to make sure that us introverts didn’t feel bad about ourselves… it was quite comical actually. Being an introvert is socially seen as a bad thing, when really its not bad, its just different.

I actually highly recommend taking the assessment. And….I’m sorry if I confuse you with my introverted ways and lack of expressing emotion… I often tend to confuse myself as well. What can I say? I’m an ISFJ.

4 thoughts on “Personality Explained

  1. Pingback: I am an Introvert. Holla! | The Mundane Life of Abby

Leave a Reply

