Dying to Be Thin

Sorry I haven’t been around for the past little while. Procrastinator Abby has been scrambling to get her schoolwork done. I’ve been working on a 12 page paper on eating disorders, which I titled… Dying to Be Thin. And I thought I’d use is as my blog title as well… you know… to really catch people’s attention!

My paper focussed on eating disorders in women ages 15-25. The research I found was astounding, horrible, graphic, and sadly no surprise. I’ve known many girls with eating disorders including friends, roommates, and acquaintances. I’ve even heard previous roommates regurgitating their meals in my very own bathroom after eating. It saddens me that our society is this way.

So much pressure is put on girls especially to have perfect bodies. I don’t think guys will ever fully comprehend the pressure and difficulty to obtain a perfect body for women. I overheard a guy talking about his very slender girlfriend. Someone asked him how does she stay so thin when all she eats is fast food? He said, I don’t know… she probably has a eating disorder or something, but as long as she still looks the way she does I don’t care. Are you kidding me? I completely lost all respect for this person. Its completely unrealistic when considering that celebrities don’t get their perfect bodies naturally. Silicone, tummy tucks, liposuction, and photo shop are what give them their flattering figures. Its health that matters and not weight.

I’ve had my own personal struggle with food, as nearly ALL girls do. I lost a fair amount of weight my freshman year within a matter of 3 months, fair amount as in roughly 20-30 pounds. I simply ate as little as I could. It was almost a game…how little can I get by on. My roommates noticed that I hardly ate anything, my friends told me that I was at an unhealthy weight, and I started to realize that it probably wasn’t a normal thing that I went to bed every night with my stomach growling. Was it an eating disorder? I would say I’m not sure… but it definitely was not normal or healthy behavior.

Pretty much now I can spot an eating disorder a mile away. A small girl who eats a ton and remains super tiny? Let me tell you, I’ve been on both ends of the spectrum… it simply doesn’t work like that. They either eat one meal a day (the meal they’re eating in front of you) or have a problem with purging (there are various kinds: excessive working out, fasting, laxitives). They need the reinforcement that weight is not everything. Girls shouldn’t have to feel like they’ve committed a sin if they’ve eaten a full sized snickers bar.

Karen Carpenter died of anorexia nearly 30 years ago. Since those 30 years, nothing has changed when it comes to progress in eating disorders. Women are still dying from anorexia and bulimia to be thin. I sent my paper to my dad to have him read it and give me his input. I didn’t know that he would call upon finishing reading my paper telling me that I needed to start the next social revolution to end this problem. haha. Good thing one is already on the brink…if you haven’t already heard of Operation Beautiful… its awesome. It involves women  posting positive body image reminders everywhere to spread a healthy message.

Image source

The founder of Operation Beautiful is a blogger named Caitlin, you check out her blog at Healthy Tipping Point. I have been following her blog for quite some time and learned of the movement by reading her blog last year. She published a book and even made an appearance on The Today Show!!! You know how much I love the Today Show, so you know I was all over that. Its a great idea that spreads awareness that your value is not reflective of the numbers on the scale.

Focus less on weight on more on health. Barbie is not real; but you are. Write some notes and spread the word! If you or anyone you know is battling with an eating disorder, get help. College counseling centers are a great (usually free) resource. If you couldn’t already tell… I’m kinda passionate about this stuff… especially since it affects people that I know and love. As always comments are welcome! Brighten someones day, and let them know they’re beautiful!

Leave a Reply

